Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


U14s Win League

Box Score

May. 18, 2013

U14 Division 5 League Final: Belcoo 7-11 v 1-5 Aughadrumsee

Belcoo defeated Aughadrumsee to win the Under 14 Division 5 League Title in terrible conditions on an extremely wet Saturday in Kinawley.

Aughdrumsee settled first and sent over a fine point from play. Belcoo came more into the game and were level when Conor McAloon converted a free. Belcoo began to play with confidence and within 10 minutes Conor McAloon had volleyed to the back of the net, he followed this with a fine point from play.

Next it was Ciaran Flanagan who beat the Aughdrumsee defence and hit the back of the net. The forwards were well on top and further points from C Flanagan and C McAloon had put the O’Rahilly’s into a commanding lead.

Belcoo's teamwork was excellent and all sectors of the team were playing exceptionally well. One lapse in the Belcoo defence let Aughadrumsee in for a goal. However, another goal from C McAloon and a converted point from a free from C Flanagan restored Belcoo's comfortable lead.

Belcoo were on top from this stage until half time. The move of the match came from a kick out by Doherty which found the excellent Furey and he passed to McGourty who slipped the ball to McAloon and onto Flanagan before the ball was finished to the back of the net by a Primary School player, Fiachra McAloon. C Flanagan scored another goal and a converted free before half time to leave Belcoo 5-4 to 1-1 ahead at the interval.

The second half started like the first with Aughdrumsee scoring a point. Belcoo again began to dominate and 3 points from C McAloon, another score from play from Burns and a further C Flanagan point.

However, Aughadrumsee never give up and scored  4 second half points. Belcoo made a number of changes with 10 minutes to go with substitutes Corrigan andFergusonboth finding the net before further points from Corrigan and Burns ensured a significant winning margin for Belcoo.

The forwards had a good game and received a lot of quality ball from the hardworking midfielders James McAloon, McGourty and McHugh who was operating as a third mid fielder.

The half back line of Shiels, Furey and McElgunn played fantastically as they have been during the last four matches. Doherty and McKeown were both very sound in the back line and Oisin McGrath again pulled of a couple of crucial saves.

Dara Flanagan Oran Flanagan & Matthew Mulvey also made a good contribution when they replaced McKeown, F McAloon & C Flanagan with 10 minutes to go.    

The winning Belcoo Team - Oisin McGrath, Shane Doherty, Lawrence McKeown, Eoin Shiels, Colm Furey, Damien McElgunn, James McAloon, Michael McGourty, Gerard McHugh, Dermot Burns (0-2) Fiachra McAloon (1-0) Conor McAloon (2-5) Ciaran Flanagan (2-3) Daniel Corrigan (1-1) Mark Ferguson (1-0) Matthew Mulvey, Dara Flanagan, Oran McCann. 




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.