Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


Narrow Defeat In Ederney for the Seniors

Box Score

May. 11, 2014

SENIORS: St. Joseph's 0-15 v 1-11 Belcoo

There was just the minimum between league holders St. Joseph's and Belcoo at the Ederney venue on Sunday as the hosts recorded a 0-15 to 1-11 victory. Belcoo staged a late rallied with the last four scores but came up short as they were unable to convert a late free from an acute angle to tie the contest at the death.

St. Joseph's held the upperhand at the interval but it was Belcoo who made a bright opening during the first 20minutes of the contest. An early free from goalkeeper Chris Snow and a right wing point from Niall Maguire had given the hosts the lead before Belcoo rattled in 1-3 to move into a commanding position.

Niall McGovern bursting through the middle for the opener before Aaron Dolan landed a second. Just eight minutes had elapsed when Belcoo recorded the games only goal. A Ciaran Flaherty shot was blocked by Peter Gormley and the loose ball fell to Aaron Dolan who was fouled by Gormley in the penalty area as he gathered possession. Belcoo goalkeeper James McGrath ventured forward to drill the penalty kick past his opposite number. Jonathan Feeley would land a point after good work by Paul McGrath before St. Joseph's regained a foothold in the fixture.

Enda Ferris found the target twice while the three McCusker brothers all pointed to give the hosts the a 0-7 to 1-3 advantage.

Ciaran Flaherty drilled over a fine point after a surging run but a Snow free was followed by a Declan McCusker point while Jonathan Feeley and Chris Snow exchanged late scores giving Ederney a 0-10 to 1-5 interval lead.

Belcoo begun the half well winning two frees close to goal with Ciaran Flahery clipped over to tie matters. St. Joseph's though would establish the upperhand as Martin McGrath landed a long distance score before Darren McCusker and Chris Snow added frees to see their side into a three point lead once more. Further points from Martin McGrath and Chris Snow hoisted the hosts five clear but over the final ten minutes Belcoo rallied.

Matthew McAloon pointed a neat score from the left side before Ryan Leonard joined the attack from corner back to reduced the deficit to three points. Ciaran Flaherty would then strike a fine point from long range before Jonathan Feeley tapped over a close free after Seamus Conlon was fouled.

There was still time for the visitors to level although the score eluded them in the final few minutes. Ciaran Flaherty going close with a last minute free from an acute angle but the ball drifted wide and St. Joseph's recorded a fourth win from six games to jump above Belcoo in the league. 

TEAM: James McGrath, Ryan McGovern, Christopher Leonard, Ryan Leonard, Declan Leonard, Eoin Leonard, Niall Leonard, Niall McGovern, John Carrigan, Padraig Higgins, Ciaran Flaherty, Gavin Leonard, Jonathan Feeley, Paul McGrath, Aaron Dolan. Subs Used: Matthew McAloon, Seamus Conlon.


P W D L F A Pts
Derrygonnelly 6 4 1 1 97 87 9
Tempo 6 4 1 1 83 78 9
St Joseph's 6 4 0 2 97 89 8
Belcoo 6 3 1 2 84 63 7
Erne Gaels 6 3 0 3 95 68 6
Roslea 6 2 1 3 67 78 5
St Patrick's 5 2 0 3 79 85 4
Newtownbutler 6 2 0 4 82 106 4
Devenish 5 1 1 3 58 72 3
Teemore 6 1 1 4 68 84 3


Erne Gaels v Belcoo
Devenish v Derrygonnelly
St Joseph's v St Patrick's
Newtownbutler v Tempo
Teemore v Roslea




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.