Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


Belcoo Beaten In U14 Championship Decider

Box Score

Jun. 17, 2014

U14 Championship Final: Teemore 4-12 v 1-6 Belcoo

Belcoo weren’t to be successful in their tilt for ‘B’ Championship glory at the Belnaleck venue on a hot Tuesday evening as a physically stronger Teemore side pulled away in the second period to record a 4-12 to 1-6.

The O’Rahilly’s battled hard throughout and can be pleased by their performance but in the end Teemore, who were strong favourite going into the game, justified that tag and pushed on to seal the win.

The McManus brothers Aaron and Dara were to prove a handful in the middle of the park while wing forward Nathan McAdam came to the fore in the second half, registering 1-5 for the winners.

Belcoo though defended well throughout the game with Oisin O’Loughlin, Emmet McGuinness and Ronan Maguire putting in stellar displays at the back while Shane Doherty and Conor McAloon tried hard to get things going forward.

The young O’Rahilly’s opened the scoring on 5minutes when Shane Doherty pointed from distance but Teemore responded with a free from Louis Donohoe before Kyle Fitzpatrick struck the first goal, the Belcoo defenders twice blocking efforts before Donohoe found a way past Dara Flanagan in the Belcoo goals.

Donohoe and Fitzpatrick would both land points while Belcoo’s keeper made a good save to deny a second goal. The Shamrocks would plunder a second goal while corner back Rian McNally joined the attack to kick a good point.

Belcoo were under the cosh at this stage but were defending resolutely while in counter attacks they were beginning to have some joy. Dermot Burns and Conor McAloon split the post to leave it 2-4 to 0-3 as the half approached its conclusion.

Louis Donohoe would extend the Teemore advantage to eight but a powerful finish to the half seen Belcoo rally. Shane Doherty found the net with a long range drive and Conor McAloon drilled over a point as two other goal chances went begging for the O’Rahillys allowing Teemore to hold a 2-5 to 1-4 lead.

Two early Teemore goals left Belcoo with a mountain to climb, a 34th miinute strike by Donohoe and a superbly taken effort into the top corner by Nathan McAdam pushed the Shamrocks into a commanding lead.

Belcoo mustered some good forays forward but last ditch defending and excellent blocking from Teemore kept the O’Rahilly’s at bay. With Belcoo struggling to make any inroads Teemore continued to clip over points. McAdam would hit five points in the second period, all from play while Shane Curran and Christy Donohoe were also on target.

Belcoo’s two second half points come from Conor McAloon and Oran McCann although they had a sustain period of pressure which yielded no score, Mark Ferguson, Ciaran Flanagan and Shane Doherty all going close with efforts at goal. Teemore were defending extremely well and deservedly ran out 4-12 to 1-6 winners.

TEAM: Dara Flanagan, Oisin O’Loughlin, Oisin McGrath, Emmet McGuinness, Matthew Mulvey, Ronan Maguire, Lawrence McKeown, Dermot Burns (0-1), Ciaran Flanagan, Damian McElgun, Conor McAloon (0-3), Fiachra McAloon, Shane Doherty (1-1), Oran McCann (0-1), Mark Ferguson. Subs Used: Cormac McHugh, Oisin Leonard, Gerry Nolan.




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.