Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


Belcoo Hold On For Another Draw

Box Score

Aug. 3, 2014

SENIORS: Belcoo 3-6 v 1-12 Derrygonnelly

A draw, another one for Belcoo, a fourth in their last six outings but one they will take despite holding a nine point lead early in the second half. For early August it felt like the middle of December as the wind blew a gale and rain pelted down during the second period as Derrygonnelly chipped away at the lead with the elements favouring them.

Belcoo would only muster a goal in the second half and rarely threatened but at the death Shane McCabe and Declan Cassidy missed guilt edged chances for their respective sides to nick full points. A draw it would be though, Belcoo 3-6, Derrygonnelly 1-12.

The hosts once more began brightly assisted by the wind. Ciaran Flaherty clipping over a free while Paul McGrath raced away and added a fine point following a great ball by Niall McGovern. John Carrigan was next to fire over after a neat turn as the O’Rahilly’s moved three points clear.

Derrygonnelly though would get things going on ten minutes as Paul Ward’s outside of the boot effort found the target. Jonathan McGurn added a 20m free and Ward hit a superb effort from the right wing, into the stiff breeze which levelled the tie.

Ryan Jones, who had been taking the fight to Belcoo with his driving runs did manage to break through on one occasion to drill over a point but Brian Cox responded with a good effort from distance for 0-4 a piece on 20minutes.

James McGrath was forced to make a good save from a Ryan Jones effort which sparked Blcoo back into life as Barry McGovern got on the end of a sweeping move to split the posts from almost the sideline. Niall McGovern was next to account for a point while Jonathan McGurn registered another free to half the deficit to one.

The 27th minute of the half proved a profitable 60seconds for Belcoo. The O’Rahilly’s hitting two goals to give them a seven point interval lead. A crossfield pass on the Derrygonnelly 45m line was cut out by Brian Cox who raced through and confidently fired low into the left corner of the net.

From the resulting kickout Dermot Feeley in the visiting goals skewed a short kick out to Belcoo substitute Shane McCabe, McCabe ran in towards goal but was hauled down by Stephen Burns inside the penalty area. Belcoo’s goalkeeper James McGrath came forward to take the spot kick and dispatched it past his opposite number to leave Belcoo 2-6 to 0-5 up at the break.

In the second period Derrygonnelly opened their account almost immediately but Belcoo were to respond with a goal. Some patience build up play involving Cox, McGrath and McCabe seen the latter cut open the defence as his kick pass found Aaron Dolan free, Dolan fisted the ball across goal for John Carrigan to fist into the net and Belcoo now led by nine, 3-6 to 0-6.

The hosts wouldn’t score over the remainder of the contest and in truth never threatened until McCabe’s late effort. From here Derrygonnelly took control. Jonathan McGurn would kick a free and 45 before Cormac Glynn rattled the Belcoo net. A quickly taken free in midfield by Ryan Jones was angled with perfection to Glynn who hadn’t to break stride as he gathered the ball and slipped it into the net.

Paul Ward was next to register as Derrygonnelly kept the pressure on.The Harps lost Maurice Cassidy to a straight red but it didn’t deter them, another 45 from McGurn reduced the deficit to two and the same player tapped over a 14m free to leave one between the sides with 5minutes to play.

Garvan Jones hit what proved to be the leveller but Garvan McGinley and Paul Ward had efforts creep just wide under pressure from Belcoo defenders. In added time, a rare foray forward from Belcoo seen the ball worked to McCabe on the right, 21m out but the shot was off target. Derrygonnelly’s Declan Cassidy had the last effort of the tie but it was also wayward. 3-6 to 1-12 at the final whistle.

TEAM: James McGrath (1-0), Gavin Leonard, Niall Leonard, James Stewart, Barry McGovern (0-1), Eoin Leonard, Declan Leonard, Niall McGovern (0-1), Brian Cox (1-1), Aaron Dolan, Ciaran Flaherty (0-1), Paul McGrath (0-1), Philip Leonard, John Carrigan (1-1), Matthew McAloon. Subs Used. Seamus Conlon, Shane McCabe, Stephen Maguire. Blood Replacement: Niall Cullen.


      P W D L F Pts
1 . Roslea 14 9 2 3 198 163 20
2 . Tempo 14 9 1 4 174 169 19
3 . Derrygonnelly 14 8 2 4 231 208 18
4 . St. Joseph's 14 7 0 7 208 212 14
5 . Belcoo 14 4 5 5 184 180 13
6 . Erne Gaels 14 6 0 8 209 202 12
7 . St. Patricks's 12 5 1 6 197 196 11
8 . Devenish 12 5 1 6 175 180 11
9 . Newtownbutler 14 4 1 9 183 208 9
10 . Teemore 14 4 1 9 164 205 9




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.