Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


Another Defeat For The Seniors

Box Score

Aug. 30, 2014

SENIORS: Derrygonnelly 1-18 v 3-6 Belcoo

Belcoo’s woes continued in Derrygonnelly on Saturday evening as a 1-18 to 3-6 defeat sees the O’Rahilly’s slip into 8th position which means no Senior Championship football next year. The visitors have recorded just one win in 14 outings after a bright start to the campaign in April.

Playing against a stiff breeze in the opening half they trailed 1-10 to 2-2 having led early on with Aaron Dolan bagging two goals. Ryan Jones had two points on the board in the opening minutes before Ciaran Flaherty pointed for Belcoo and Dolan struck his first goal on 8minutes, gathering a high ball and finding the top corner with the aid of a deflection.

Derrygonnelly though were driving forward and creating openings at the other end, a few missed chances had been squandered before Ryan Jones landed two more points and Paul Ward also registered. Belcoo would respond with Feeley knocking over a point and Dolan plundering a second goal.

The hosts were continuing to create openings, picking up a number of breaks keeping the pressure on the visitors who would lose Paul McGrath to a shoulder injury midway through the half.

Over the closing stages Ward added two more points while Leigh Jones ended a well worked move with a simple goal, he would add a points as would Ryan Jones to give his side a five point interval lead.

Upon the restart the Harps advantage increased to nine with four quick scores from Ward (2), Leigh Jones and Ryan Jones. Belcoo mustered a third goal when Ciaran Flaherty drove through the middle and fired beyond Dermot Feeley.

The O’Rahilly’s never threatened to stage a fightback and over the remainder both sides clipped over some points, Jonathan Feeley registering from frees and play while Kevin Cassidy and Stephen Burns were among the scores for the winners.

TEAM: James McGrath, Eoin Leonard, Niall Leonard, Gavin Leonard, Declan Leonard, Ryan Leonard, Niall McGovern, Brian Cox, Christopher Leonard, Paul McGrath, Shane McCabe, Jonathan Feeley (0-5), Aaron Dolan (2-0), Ciaran Flaherty (1-1), Philip Leonard. Sub used Matthew McAloon.




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.