Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


Minor Match Reports

Feb. 22, 2015

The minor league is well underway and Belcoo have picked up a win and a loss in their two fixtures to date.

Sunday 22nd February: Brookeborough 2-11 v 4-8 Belcoo

This was the first official fixture the club has played in since the tragic death of Oisin McGrath, a minute silence prior to the game was impeccably observed.

Conditions were dreadful on the day and Belcoo were without one of their more established players in Brian Furey as well as Ciaran Flanagan who had a good first game at Minor level a fortnight ago in Donagh however Belcoo were still able to come away with a victory following a gutsy display.

The O’Rahilly’s welcomed back Aaron McTernan from a troubling hamstring injury and for the first 10 minutes he played well and had appeared to be moving well. Unfortunately Aaron's reoccurring problem meant that he had to leave the field of play after only 12 minutes and this was a big blow for Belcoo.

Brookeborough scored first with a strong wind but Belcoo grew in confidence with quick points from Aaron McTernan and Matthew McAloon. Brookeborough equalised but soon Belcoo took control with a further point from James Gillespie. Matthew McAloon scored a goal and soon after Belcoo produced their best move of the contest to register a second goal.

A good ball out of defence by Gerard McHugh found Eoin Shiels who in turn played a long ball into Conor McAloon, he looked up and passed the ball inside to Gary Doherty and Doherty made no mistake when placing the ball to the corner of the net. 

Approaching half time Brookeborough took command and hit 5 points without reply before Conor McAloon got the final point of the first period leaving the interval score as Brookeborough 0-8 v 2-4 Belcoo.

In the first five minutes of the second half Brookeborugh had got back level with 2 points. Belcoo then had a very good spell with James Gillespie scoring a good free before Matthew McAloon found the net again. Gillespie hit another excellent point. Great work between 14 years old  Conor McAloon and Shane Doherty ended up with a fine goal from young Doherty.

As Belcoo began to look the likely winners, Brookeboro hit a purple patch once more. With 10minutes remaining Brookeborough netted two quick goal, the second a penalty kick.

Belcoo though would steady themselves over the closing moments as Conor McAloon and James Gillespie scored points to ensure victory for the young O'Rahillys.

The Belcoo full back line of Gerard McHugh, Jonathan Stewart and James McAloon played well while another big effort from Eoin Shiels at half back. James Gillespie, Gary Doherty & Matthew McAloon also proved to be key players for Belcoo as did the younger members of the side including Dermot Burns, Conor McAloon and Shane Doherty had their moments in front of goals.

Team:  Andrew Ferguson, Dermot Burns, Gerard McHugh, James McAloon, Jonathan Stewart, Eoin Shiels, Aaron McTernan (0-1), Michael McGourty, Matthew McAloon (2-1), James Gillespie (0-4), Gary Doherty (1-0), Colm Furey, Daire Keaney, Michael Doherty, Conor McAloon (0-2), Micheal Coffey & Shane Doherty(1-0).


Sunday 8th February: St. Pat’s 9-10 v 4-6 Belcoo

This league opener was played in Donagh on a very cold and foggy Sunday morning, both sides were under strength but it was the hosts who handled the conditions that bit better to secure the win and they are indeed warm favourite for this Divisional title.

For long periods Belcoo were quite competitive despite the final score line would suggest. The midfield pairing of James Gillespie and Matthew McAloon played well for Belcoo. Eoin Shiels was very busy and did a lot of the running work for the O'Rahilly's.

The younger players including Ciaran Flanagan and Gerard McHugh also performed well while young Dermot Burns give an eye-catching performance in goals during the first half.

Team:  Dermot Burns, Andrew Ferguson, Gerard McHugh, James McAloon, Jonathan Stewart, Eoin Shiels, Michael McGourty, Matthew McAloon (2-3), James Gillespie (0-3), Colm Furey (1-0), Daire Keaney, Michael Doherty, Conor McAloon, Ciaran Flanagan (1-0), Andrew Ferguson & Shane Doherty.




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.