Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


All Too Easy For Juniors

Box Score

Mar. 26, 2016

ERNE CUP DIVISION 2: Belcoo 3-17 v 0-4 Belnaleck

Belcoo Juniors recorded a facile win over neighbours Belnaleck on a windy Saturday evening at the O'Rahilly's venue. The hosts easing to a 3-17 to 0-4 victory.

This fixture was only a contest for about 15minutes in truth as Belnaleck failed to score over the remainder of the game. At this juncture it was 0-4 each. The Belcoo scores coming from Barry McGovern, Matthew McAloon (2) and an Aaron Dolan 45 into a difficult breeze.

 Aaron Dolan breaks forward in the opening half

The O'Rahillys took control from here to the finish. Gerard Mellor and Barry McGovern controlled the middle sector with Niall Cullen, Declan Leonard and Stephen Nolan seeing plenty of the ball.

Scores flowed at regular intervals as Dean McDermott, Shain Gallagher and Barry McGovern all registering from play while Aaron Dolan knocked over two more placed balls to leave Belcoo 0-9 to 0-4 ahead at the break.

The hosts had a sweeping wind favouring them slightly in the second period and after an opening 8minute period without a score, a long ball from Aaron Dolan dropped under the bar for a goal.

 Gerard Mellor applying pressure for Belcoo during the second period

This ignited a steady stream of scores with Belnaleck struggling to contain the home side. Philip Leonard was introduced and fired in two quick points, Dolan added another while James Gillespie hit a fine score from the right wing.

Matthew McAloon registered two good efforts from play as Belcoo cruised into an unassailable lead while Barry McGovern clipped over his sides 17th point of the day.

The final two scores were goals. Aidan McGrath laying on a fisted goal for Aaron Dolan while Philip Leonard dispatched a penalty when Matthew McAloon was fouled.

Tougher tests lie ahead but it's two from two for the Juniors.

Team. Aidan Leonard, Brendan McPartland, Shane McAloon, Niall Cullen, Stephen Nolan, Declan Leonard, James Gillespie (0-1), Barry McGovern (0-4), Gerard Mellor, Aaron Dolan (2-4), Matthew McAloon (0-4), Ronan Meehan, Shain Gallagher (0-1), Ian Corrigan, Dean McDermott (0-1). Subs. Philip Leonard (1-2), Daire Keaney and Aidan McGrath. 




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.