Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


Bizarre Late Goal Gives Juniors Victory

Box Score

May. 14, 2016

ERNE CUP DIVISION 2: Belcoo 3-9 v 2-9 Erne Gaels

Belcoo Juniors produced a great second half to come from six down to win by three and inflict a first defeat of the season on Erne Gaels. The winning goal however was as strange a goal as ever seen, quite frankly, you needed to see it to believe it. Four minutes remained and the game was tied, a Matthew McAloon shot from 35yards for a point was blocked by a defender, the ball looped into the air, headed towards an unchallenged goalkeeper, as the ball hit the ground inside the small square, the spin on the ball from the half block by the defender seen it take an unusual bounce and deceive the Erne Gaels keeper before trickling over the line to the amazement of everyone in attendance.

The O'Rahilly's victory on a 3-9 to 2-9 scoreline was a deserved one by the final whistle though following some very good defending in the second period where they held the visitors to just five points.

Shane McAloon, Martin Corrigan, Aidan McGrath and Brian Furey were much improved as a defensive unit in the second period, cutting out several balls before shifting possession to the free running Dean McDermott who had Daire Keaney showing well and Philip Leonard applying the finishes, Leonard hitting 2-7 on the night.

Daire Keaney wins possession ahead of Joshua McMorrow

In the first half the opening 20minutes was extremely error ridden and just three scores were registered. Philip Leonard stroked a free for Belcoo with Oisin Kelm hitting a Erne Gaels goal from close range and Martin Gilfedder landing a point.

Both sides had squandered good chances though, Dean McDermott racing 60yards through the Belleek defence before offloading to Jack O'Dolan who drove wide going for goal from close range. A Philip Leonard ball into the box was flicked against the post by Matthew McAloon.

Erne Gaels too would rattle the woodwork with a thunderous drive before the scoring picked up coming to the interval. Oisin Kelm, Rory McGarrigle and Martin Gilfedder added points before Stephen Tivnan netted a second goal.

Belcoo would close out the half with Philip Leonard (2) and Dean McDermott clipping over points to see the half time score 2-4 to 0-4.

Martin Gilfedder fires wide on this occasion with Shane McAloon, Brian Furey and Patrick Sweeney closing in on him

Belcoo were much better after the break. Gerard Mellor and Barry McGovern continued to do well around the middle with the defence having tightened Belcoo were now seeing plenty more possession of the football.

Philip Leonard arrowed over a fine effort from the left before rattling the net for the first time. Erne Gaels would venture downfield and see Martin Gilfedder clip over two scores but Leonard did likewise for 2-6 to 1-7 by the 45th minute.

The sides continued traded points with Leonard again on target while Oisin Kelm and Gilfedder seen three between the sides again.

Over the closing ten minutes Belcoo pushed for the victory and an excellent sweeping move ended with a goal to level matters. Aidan McGrath turned the ball over in defence, Brian Fury carried it forward to Daire Keaney who in turn found Dean McDermott, a strong run and slipped pass to Philip Leonard ended with a drilled shot to the net. 2-8 a piece.

 Brian Furey breaks from the defence in the second period

With just 4minutes to play a remarkably fortunate third goal for Belcoo proved the telling score, Matthew McAloon had a shot from 35yards for a point blocked by the defender, the ball looped into the air, headed towards an unchallenged goalkeeper, the spin on the ball seen it take an unusual bounce and find the net to the amazement of everyone in attendance.

McAloon would land a point, Erne Gaels responded and the contest finished 3-9 to 2-9. Belcoo though, for their second half display, deserving winners.

Team. Patrick Sweeney, Martin Corrigan, Shane McAloon, Brian Furey, Dean McDermott (0-1), Aidan McGrath, Barry McGovern, Gerard Mellor, Daire Keaney, Philip Leonard (2-7), Matthew McAloon (1-1), Jack O'Dolan.




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.