Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


Comprehensive U16 Win For Lisnaskea

Box Score

Aug. 4, 2016

U16 Section B: Lisnaskea 5-23 (38) v 3-4 (13) Belcoo

Lisnaskea would record a comprehensive victory in this Section B encounter as they beat Belcoo on a 5-23 to 3-4 scoreline.

The O'Rahilly's defence were under pressure from the off however they contained the hosts well for periods and denied further goal chances been taken over the course of the hour.

Emmett McGuinness in particular had a fantastic outing in the back line, some superb blocks stopped certain scores while Oran McCann was an assured presences between the sticks. Ciaran Flanagan once more battled bravely in the middle with Dermot Burns showing well in the attack.

 Emmett McGuinness evades two challenges in the first half

Lisnaskea were to hit an early 1-2 as Dylan Tierney netted while Owen McCabe and James McBrien had slotted over points before Shane Doherty knocked over a free on four minutes for Belcoo.

The hosts would tag on scores from brothers Joe (2) and Jack McDade while McCabe and Aidan Keenan also registered as they pulled clear by the end of the first quarter.

 Lawrence McKeown breaks through a gap to relieve some pressure on the defence

Belcoo were working hard at the back with Matthew Mulvey and Oisin O'Loughlin swapping players and they would contain their new men very well over the remainder of the contest. Chances were created at the other end, Doherty firing wide following a great move upfield began by a McGuinness block.

The O'Rahilly's then struck the crossbar from a Lawrence McKeown effort with the goalkeeper saving from Shane Doherty on the rebound forcing a 45. Gerry Nolan did well to keep the ball alive from the resulting kick but Oisin Leonard was off target with his effort.

This had been a good five minute spell for the visitors and Shane Doherty was to land a point from play as Belcoo carved open the Lisnaskea defence. McCann's kickout was gathered by Dermot Burns, he played a one two with Ciaran Flanagan before feeding Fiachra McAloon who's neat kick pass seen Doherty gather and fire over. 

Close to the interval James McBrien netted a second goal for Lisnaskea while on the stroke of half time, Burns and Flanagan cut through for a goal chance, Joe McDade though made a last ditch block to leave the score 2-11 to 0-2 at half time.

 Ciaran Flanagan powers forward in the second half as Belcoo break at pace

Belcoo produced a spirited second half display and had hit two points inside 90seconds of the restart. Dermot Burns and Lawrence McKeown taking fine points of their right and left foots respectively.

Lisnaskea were not allowed to build up a head of steam in this half, Mark Ferguson and Dara Flanagan were foraging well to win back ball with Matthew Mulvey driving out from the back on occasions while McGuinness continued to go well.

The hosts would hit four points over a 10minute spell but Belcoo would bang in their first goal when Dermot Burns quick free found Ciaran Flanagan who thumped the ball into the roof of the net.

Lisnaskea responded with a goal of their before tagging on points from James McBrien, Niall McCaffrey and Dara Kelly. Belcoo though continued to battle away and were rewarded with two more goals, Shane Doherty winning a 50/50 with a good shoulder on the left wing before finding Dermot Burns who feed Lawrence McKeown for a well taken goal. Burns himself got in on the act with a good finish moments later while Lisnaskea added points to their tally.

 Oisin Leonard and Jack McDade tussle for a loose ball

Oran McCann would save a penalty from James McBrien but the ball found its way into the net twice in the closing five minutes to give the home side a comprehensive win.

There is one reminding game in the sections against Newtownbutler before the split to divisions. Game is fixed for Wednesday at 7.30pm in Belcoo but could be Tuesday night yet.

Team. Oran McCann, Emmett McGuinness, Matthew Mulvey, Oisin O'Loughlin, Dara Flanagan, Lawrence McKeown (1-1), Oisin Leonard, Ciaran Flanagan (1-0), Mark Ferguson, Dermot Burns (1-1), Gerry Nolan, Fiachra McAloon, Shane Doherty (0-2). Sub. Eoin Barrett.




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.