Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


First Defeat For Seniors

Box Score

Apr. 23, 2017

SENIOR LEAGUE DIVISION 1: Belcoo 0-8 v 0-9 Roslea

Roslea were to take home the points with a 0-9 to 0-8 victory at MacNean Park this afternoon. In truth the game was devoid of any real quality as a litany of errors both forced and unforced meant it was always going to be a close contest. 

Roslea's Ruairi McGuinness would kick six of the nine points from placed balls. Four of these came in the opening half with Niall Cosgrove slotting over from play. 

The Shamrocks had three on the board before Belcoo opened their account when full back Christopher Leonard got on the end of a move to point. Paul McGrath knocked over the next score with a well taken left footed effort before Cosgrove pushed his side two clear.

Jonathan Feeley levelled things with two from play, the first from the left after patient play while the second was well struck right footed effort from the right wing. By the interval it was 0-5 to 0-4 to the visitors as McGuinness made no mistake from another placed ball. 

Niall Cosgrove had a bright opening to the second half in the middle of the field and he extended the lead to two points. 

Belcoo though would register the next four points to lead 0-8 to 0-6. Aaron Dolan with two before Shane McCabe and James Gillespie registered for the hosts. Gillespie’s point came after Philip Leonard had struck the post going for a goal. 

This was as good as it got for Belcoo who didn't register in the final 10minutes. Roslea were winning all the breaks while the O’Rahilly’s played numerous stray passes, sloppy handling and unforced errors gifted possession back to Roslea who had been struggling for scores from play. They were to get one before McGuinness struck two more frees to win it 0-9 to 0-8. 

Team. James McGrath, Niall Leonard, Christopher Leonard (0-1), Ryan McGovern, Stephen Nolan, Niall McGovern, Dean McDermott, Paul McGrath (0-1), James McGourty, Gavin Leonard, Ryan Leonard, Eoin Shiels, Aaron Dolan (0-2), Jonathan Feeley (0-2), Philip Leonard. Subs. Shane McCabe (0-1), James Gillespie (0-1), Niall Cullen, Matthew McAloon.




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.