Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


Reserves Beaten In Championship

Box Score

Aug. 13, 2018


The Reserve Men who were among the favourites for the Championship fell at the first hurdle on Sunday as they went down to Brookeboro on a 2-11 to 2-7 scoreline. In truth the O’Rahilly’s never got going and the O'Rahilly's chased the game for the vast majority.

Brookeboro began brightly with an inside forward causing serious problems, he’d a quick 1-2 on the board while Conor McAloon had lofted over Belcoo’s sole score in the opening ten minutes.

Belcoo would hit two goals in sixty seconds though as Ronan Meehan and Barry McGovern both found the net with 12minutes on the clock, the only time Belcoo would lead in the contest 2-1 to 1-3. Niall Cullen blazed a good goal chance wide but Brookeboro made no mistake moments later rattling in their second goal and adding a point for a 2-4 to 2-1 lead.

By the interval it was 2-7 to 2-2. Belcoo dropping several efforts into the arms for the goalkeeper while a clinical Brookeboro attacks were taking their chances, Joe Corcoran pointing two frees from distance in this period.

The winners extended their advantage to six points early in the second half before going some 20minutes without a score. Belcoo, while dominating the ball, struggled to score as the attack laboured. Two Gary Maguire frees cut the deficit to four before Aaron Dolan hit one from play and Maguire added another free to leave it 2-8 to 2-6 with 15minutes to play.


It wasn’t until the 56th minute that another score was registered, Brookeboro ending their drought with two in the space of a minute to move back into a strong position, four up with four to play.

The goal Belcoo required never materialised, Ronan Meehan kicked a point which was matched at the other end and the game ended 2-11 to 2-7.

Team: Jack O’Dolan, Anthony Kerrigan, Shane McAloon, Martin Corrigan, Michael McGourty, Brian Lynskey, Brendan McPartland, Gerard Mellor, Barry McGovern (1-0), Conor McAloon (0-1), Ronan Meehan (1-1), Niall Cullen, Aaron Dolan (0-2), Patrick Burns, Gary Maguire (0-3). Subs Declan Leonard, Ryan McGovern, Ian Corrigan, Gary McGovern.




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.