Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


Minors Into Championship Final

Box Score

Jul. 3, 2010


Belcoo have progressed into their third consecutive championship final following an 8 point victory over Derrygonnelly in Garrison on Saturday evening. It wasn't until the final quarter that Belcoo opened up a comfortable lead and secured their place in the Final where they will face Aughdrumsee who defeated Belnaleck in the other Semi.

Derrygonnelly had their best spell of the game in the opening 10 minutes and found themselves three points to the good following two Christopher Ferguson frees and a well taken score from play by Conal Jones. It took Belcoo 12minutes to open their account following a slow start, Stephen Nolan got the score from a free.

Aaron Dolan pointed from play before Nolan pointed another free to bring the sides level. Jonathan Feeley then got on the scoresheet when he completed a well worked move with a point from 30yards. Derrygonnelly's Christopher Ferguson registered his third score of the day from a placed ball to ensure the side went in at the break level on 0-4 each.

The first score of the second period came from another Ferguson free. Belcoo's response was a Daniel Walsh point and it wasn't until the 40th minute that Belcoo found the net. Stephen Nolan's long ball into the forward line was collected by Aaron Dolan and Dolan finished low into the bottom corner.

Lee Jones got a point back for Derrygonnelly but at this stage Belcoo were beginning to dominant most sectors of the field. Jonathan Feeley pointed a 45, Stephen Nolan kicked another free and then Belcoo ended the game as a contest with 8minutes to go.

Wing half back Eoin Gallagher who is not known for his scoring exploits fisted to the net following a goalmouth scramble, Philip Leonard, Barry McGovern and Aaron Dolan added insurance scores as Belcoo coasted over the closing moments. Derrygonnelly did get a late goal and a point but Jonathan Feeley and a James Stewart free kick left the final score Belcoo 2-12 Derrygonnelly 1-7.

TEAM: Patrick Sweeney, Martin Corrigan, Anthony Mulvey, Aidan Ferguson, Seimi Raffery, James Stewart (0-1), Eoin Gallagher (1-0), Stephen Carlin, Stephen Nolan (0-3), Aaron Dolan (1-2), Jonathan Feeley (0-3), Daniel Walsh (0-1), Ryan Doherty, Philip Leonard (0-1), Jamie Melanophy. SUBS Used Barry McGovern (0-1), Mark Nugent.




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.