Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


MINORS: Aughdrumsee 1-11 Belcoo 1-7 (Championship Final)

Box Score

Jul. 16, 2010

Aughdrumsee made history on Friday evening when they collected their first ever Minor Championship by defeating Belcoo 1-11 to 1-7 in Brewster Park.

Aughdrumsee got on the scoreboard in the opening moments when midfielder Eddie Courtney fired over a long distance free kick. The same player was on kick another excellent free before Jonathan Feeley replied for Belcoo. Aughdrumsee's Centre Half Forward John-Joe Strain was to get two quick points from play before Courtney pointed a 45 and the corner forward also registered to put Aughadrumsee 0-6 to 0-1 in front midway through the first half.

Belcoo had there best spell of the opening half as they tried to reduce the 5 point deficit. Stephen Nolan pointed a free before Philip Leonard kicked two good points from play. At this stage Belcoo were beginning to get themselves back into it but an Aughdrumsee counter attack led to a goal following a high ball launched into the square, it was fisted to the net as Belcoo claimed square ball. A late point from Aughdrumsee seen them lead 1-7 to 0-4 at the interval.

Within seconds of the restart Philip Leonard's long range pass found Jonathan Feeley on the edge of the square and Feeley shrugged off his marker to fire into the roof of the net. Feeley pointed a free in the 3rd minute of the second half and Stephen Nolan did the same in the 12th minute to leave just one point between the sides (1-7 to 1-6). 

Belcoo were camped infront of the Aughdrumsee goals at this time but some wayward shooting and misplaced passes meant Belcoo couldn't find that score to level proceedings. Having survived numerous Belcoo attacks Eddie Courtney won a free and kicked his sides first score of the half in the 20minute, full foward Flynn got another and Strain also added a point as Aughdrumsee finished strongly. Belcoo's Patrick Sweeney made an excellent late save to keep his sides hopes of collecting three championship is a row but it was Aughdrumsee's day and they duly lifted their 1st ever Minor title.

TEAM: Patrick Sweeney, Anthony Mulvey, Martin Corrigan, Aidan Ferguson, Eoin Gallagher, James Stewart, Seimi Rafferty, Stephen Nolan (0-2), Stephen Carlin, Aaron Dolan, Jonathan Feeley (1-2), Daniel Walsh, jamie Melanophy, Philip Leonard (0-3), Ryan Doherty. SUBS Used: Barry McGovern and Michael Leonard




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.