Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:



Box Score

Oct. 16, 2010

Junior League Division 1 Final


Belcoo secured their first Junior League Division 1 title since 1963 with a slick and accomplished performance right from the first whistle in Brewster Park on Saturday evening.

Belcoo held the majority of possession throughout but in the early stages they struggled to convert their chances. After 15 minutes of pressure, they had only managed three points. A Gavin Leonard point was sandwiched between two well taken Patrick Burns scores. Over the next ten minutes Teemore started to get themselves into the game, Ciaran Brady got their opening score, while Eugene Wynne and John Fitzpatrick also got on the scoresheet. For Belcoo Gavin Leonard and Jonathan Feeley had added scores to leave it 0-5 to 0-3 with 25minutes played.

The closing five minutes of the first half seen Belcoo open up an unassailable lead. Sean McNulty scored a wonderful goal after he drove forward and fired the ball into the top right hand corner and within seconds of that goal they had another. Jonathan Feeley fed Gavin Leonard who came in from the left wing and slid the ball under the Teemore 'keeper. John Carrigan and Gavin Leonard added points that meant Belcoo were 2-7 to 0-3 up at the interval.

The second half was quite similar to the first as Belcoo again dominanted in all sectors of the field. Points in the first quarter from Fitzpatrick, McManus and Kernan weren't enough to impact on the scoreline as Feeley, Aidan McGrath and two John Carrigan free kicks kept Belcoo's lead intact.

Feeley and Gavin Leonard continued to prove an impressive duo inside as they knocked over another score apiece while Fitzpatrick and Brady added to Teemore's total. With the game drawing to a close and the outcome inevitable Belcoo's Centre Half Back Eoin Leonard ventured forward and kicked a good score. John Carrigan added to his tally while Ciaran Brady did register a consolation goal for Teemore.

Congratulation to all involved with Belcoo Juniors as they completed their season in style with what was possibly their best performance of the year.

TEAM: Aidan Leonard, James Stewart, Shane McAloon, Ryan McGovern, Stephen Nolan, Eoin Leonard (0-1), Declan Leonard, Sean McNulty (1-0), Seamus Conlon, Patrick Burns (0-2), Ian Corrigan, John Carrigan (0-4), Aidan McGrath (0-1), Jonathan Feeley (0-3), Gavin Leonard (1-4). SUBS Used: Niall Cullen, Nevan Higgins, Gerard Mellor, Gary Maguire and Barry McGovern. UNUSED Subs Brendan McPartland, Stephen Maguire, Seimi Rafferty and Paul Duffy.




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.