Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


U14's Off to Winning Start

Box Score

Feb. 25, 2012

Belcoo Under 14's travelled to a blustery Aughdrumsee on Saturday for their first game in the 2012 season in Section B of the League. Belcoo were very slow to settle and Aughdrumsee playing with a considerable wind advantage got the first point of the match after only 3 minutes. Belcoo found the early going tough as some wayward passing and scoring attempts seen them take 10minutes to open their account.

That opening score was to be a goal from the boot of under 12 player, Ciaran Flanagan. On 15minutes Belcoo extended their lead with a point from midfielder, Eoin Shiels. This was to be Belcoo's last score of the half. However Aughdrumsee hit back with 2 quick fire points on 22minutes and 25minutes to close the gap to a single point at the interval. Belcoo leading 1-1 to 0-3.

Both sides squandered good opportunitiesin the opening minutes of the second half. Belcoo had the wind advantage in this half and started playing some excellent football. A dominant 15minutes seen a flurry of scores. Gerard McHugh, Aaron Duffy, Ciaran Flanagan, Damien McElgunn and Conor McAloon (2) all hit the net while McAloon added three points and Eoin Shiels also fired over. This scoring blitz ended this game as a contest however Aughdrumsee to their credit continued battling to the end and hit 2 goals late on.

The final score was Aughdrumsee 2-3 Belcoo 6-6. To be honest this was a closer game than the final score-line suggested. James McAloon in the Belcoo nets made a number of fine saves and he was assisted by the powerful Gary Doherty in the full back line. Under 12 players Shane Doherty and Dermot Burns also worked well in the Belcoo defence. Eoin Shiels and Aaron McTernan combined well in the midfield. The forwards got going in the second half and racked up a considerable score tally between them.

The Belcoo team was - James McAloon, Shane Doherty, Gary Doherty, Colm Furey, Dermot Burns, Andrew Ferguson (Captain) Gerard McHugh, Eoin Shiels, Aaron McTernan, Damien McElgunn, Daire Keaney, Aaron Duffy, Conor McAloon, Ciaran Flanagan Michael McGourty and the playing sub was Cormac McHugh.




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.