Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:


JUNIORS: Late Holleran Goal Earns Belcoo A Draw

Box Score

Apr. 21, 2012

JUNIORS: Derrygonnelly 2-9 v 1-12 Belcoo

A stunning goal from Belcoo’s Damian Holleran with the last kick of the game seen Belcoo snatch a draw from this Junior League Division 1 encounter in Derrygonnelly on Saturday evening. Belcoo had trilled for the majority however a strong finish seen them come from 5 points down to claim a share of the spoils.

Derrygonnelly held a 2-9 to 0-10 lead with 6minutes remaining but two free kicks from Patrick Burns reduced the deficit to 3points as the game ticked into added time. With Belcoo pressing forward a high ball into the forward line broke to Holleran who fired an unstoppable effort from 25yards past the despairing dive of Ryan Farrell in the home goals.

Derrygonnelly never trailed in this fixture so they will be slightly disappointed they couldn’t secure a win however few could begrudge this battling Belcoo side something from the game as they continued to press forward and chip away at the Derrygonnelly lead before they eventually levelled matters at the death.

A bright opening from the home side seen Derrygonnelly race into a 3point lead. John Murphy at Centre Half Forward fired over two good scores from play while nippy corner forward Peter Gallagher also landed a neat score. Belcoo’s sole score in the opening 10minutes came from Aaron Dolan after good work from Nevan Higgins in the build up.

Patrick Burns landed a long range point to close the gap to one point before Derrygonnelly got their first goal on 14minutes. An impressive solo run from Leigh Jones seen the young attacker race straight through the heart of the Belcoo defence before slipping the ball into Eugene McManus who fisted to the net.

John Murphy added his third score of the half to push Derrygonnelly into a 1-4 to 0-2 lead but Belcoo responded with scores from Nevan Higgins and a Patrick Burns free before Anthony Maguire and Patrick Burns traded frees to leave the score 1-5 to 0-5 at the interval.

Again it was Derrygonnelly who began the half well and Anthony Maguire added two fine points to extend the lead to 5points. Belcoo continued to turn ball in midfield with Gerard Mellor to the fore and Burns clipped over two more points with substitute Seimi Rafferty also on the scoresheet as the visitors remained within touching distance.

Midway through the half Derrygonnelly’s Christopher Ferguson made his mark on the game with a long range free kick before he fired in a second goal for his side. The young forward broke through the Belcoo backline and coolly placed the ball into the top right hand corner leaving Patrick Sweeney with no chance of saving it. At this stage Derrygonnelly led 2-8 to 0-8 and in their next attack Eugene McManus was clean through on goal but fired narrowly wide. A third goal at that stage would have surely seen the home side to victory.

Aaron Dolan rattled over a fine point from distance for Belcoo and Patrick Burns increased his tally to 0-6 for the day while Anthony Maguire kicked what was to be Derrygonnelly’s last score. In the closing stages Burns added two more points before Holleran conjured up a superb goal to level the game with the last kick of the ball.

For the home side Anthony Maguire had a good hour in the forward line while John Murphy started well before Aidan Leonard got the upper hand in that battle. Belcoo’s Michael Leonard impressed throughout at corner back, with Daniel Ray excelling on his junior debut at wing back. Mellor and Burns worked well in midfield with Holleran and Aidan McGrath picking up a number of breaks. Nevan Higgins and Aaron Dolan showed well throughout and all involved can be happy with the shift they put in to secure a point for the visitors.

Derrygonnelly: Ryan Farrell, Pauric McGurn, Ciaran Dundas, Barry Gallagher, Chris Brennan, Francie McKenna, Niall Jones, Cormac Glynn, Stephen McGullion, Anthony Maguire (0-4), John Murphy (0-3), Leigh Jones, Peter Gallagher (0-1), Eugene McManus (1-0), Paul McGowan. Subs: Christopher Ferguson (1-1).

Belcoo: Paddy Sweeney, Martin Corrigan, Shane McAloon, Michael Leonard, Rory McGrath, Aidan Leonard, Daniel Ray, Gerard Mellor, Patrick Burns (0-8), Aidan McGrath, Aaron Dolan (0-2), Damian Holleran (1-0), Eunan Mullally, James McGourty, Nevan Higgins (0-1). Subs Seimi Rafferty (0-1).




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.