Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register

Belcoo O'Rahilly's

Like & Share:



Box Score

Jun. 18, 2012

SENIORS: Teemore 0-11 v 2-6 Belcoo

Belcoo picked up a much needed victory over Teemore on Sunday. The visitors had suffered two recent defeats while Teemore were left despondent for the second consecutive week after conceding a late goal to deny them a first victory.

Teemore found themselves three points to the good as the game entered added time but Belcoo, who had been woefully inaccurate in front of goal throughout the second period, managed to conjure up a goal from marauding corner back Ryan Leonard before Seamus Conlon fisted the winning score seconds later.

John Fitzpatrick who’d been impressive from frees throughout the game did miss from 30yards with the last kick of the game to tie but it wasn’t to be for the Shamrocks who are now cast adrift at the foot of the table.

Team P W D L F A Pts
Lisnaskea 8 5 2 1 125 102 12
St. Joseph's 8 3 4 1 107 98 10
Derrygonnelly 8 4 1 3 106 87 9
Tempo 8 4 1 3 101 97 9
Roslea 8 3 2 3 80 82 8
Belcoo 8 4 0 4 95 102 8
Erne Gaels 8 4 0 4 81 101 8
Devenish 8 2 3 3 97 89 7
Newtown 8 3 1 4 91 104 7
Teemore 8 0 2 6 98 119 2

In the early exchanges it was the home side who began brightly, Eoin McManus and Gerry Quinlan had landed points before Philip Leonard and Shain Gallagher did likewise for Belcoo.

Quinlan was then denied by a wonderful save from James McGrath, the keeper somehow turned Quinlan’s effort over the crossbar for a point. Moment later Declan Fitzpatrick had a glorious goal chance but again McGrath wasn’t to be beaten.

Having survivied a ropey few minutes Belcoo began to dominate the middle third. Paul McGrath and Niall McGovern were dictating centrefield while Eoin Leonard was constantly gathering any loose possession. Shane McCabe and Philip Leonard provided the outlet in the full forward line but despite a sustained period of dominance Belcoo were rather wasteful in front of goal.

Stephen Maguire did manage to tap over a close free before Niall McGovern got the opening goal on 24minutes. A James McGrath kickout was arrowed towards Brian Cox and the forward drilled a long ball into McCabe, who beat the keeper but not a recovering defender however the rebound fell into the path of McGovern who finished into an empty net.

McGovern added a point from play for the strong finishing Belcoo who held a 1-4 to 0-4 interval lead. Some early attacks by Belcoo yielded nothing before Teemore had their best spell of the encounter hitting five scores in a row.

John Fitzpatrick was their chief scorer with three from frees while Seamus McCaffrey and Declan Drumm also found the target. At this juncture Philip Leonard knocked over a neat point for Belcoo but the visitors continued to squander great chances.

Teemore continued to chip over points as they looked like they were about to record a first success of the season. Fitzpatrick added two more points to give his side a 0-11 to 1-5 lead entering added time.

Belcoo had only registered one point in the entire second half but in a late burst they snatched a victory from their opponents. Brian Cox was the provider as he fed the on-rushing Ryan Leonard and the corner back confidently fired into the net. From the resulting kickout Belcoo won possession and gained a free kick 50metres from goal. Shane McCabe’s effort dropped into the square where substitute Seamus Conlon fisted over the bar.

Following Fitzpatick’s missed free referee Martin Higgins brought an end to proceedings and Belcoo had taken an important victory. For the home side Joey Donegan and Seamus McCaffrey had fine games in defence while for the winners Paul McGrath and Niall McGovern came out on top of Barry Owens and Declan O’Reilly in midfield. Belcoo captain Niall Leonard was again excellent at full back while Eoin Leonard won possession on numerous occasions during both halves.

TEAM: James McGrath, Ryan Leonard (1-0), Niall Leonard, Gavin Leonard, Ryan Dolan, Eoin Leonard, Ryan McGovern, Paul McGrath, Niall McGovern (1-1), Declan Leonard, Brian Cox, Shain Gallagher (0-1), Philip Leonard (0-2), Stephen Maguire (0-1), Shane McCabe: SUBS USed. Barry McGovern, Michael Leonard, Seamus Conlon (0-1).




There are no comments yet.

You must be logged in and associated with this team to post comments. If you are logged in and associated with this team, then your user association type does not have sufficient permissions to post comments.