Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register


Like & Share:Premier "A" Awards


Most Valuable Player  - Perpetual Trophy Named after John Purcell

Awarded to the player who accumulates the most votes (3-2-1) during the regular season

John was a defenseman who became involved in hockey in 1946.  He was a regular Goodall Cup representative for Victoria and was Captain of the Australian team in the 1962 World Championship team that recordedAustralia's historic first ever International win.   He was a member of the 1964 Olympic qualifying team inJapan.   John was also the second president of the Australian Ice Hockey Federation (now Ice HockeyAustralia) between 1976 and 1980, successor to Ken Kennedy. 

John wore number 9 over many years with the Blackhawks which the club recognised several years ago when he passed away. 

John was a Life Member of the Blackhawks, IHV & IHA.


Highest Point Scorer  -  Perpetual Trophy provided by Noel Derrick

Awarded to the player who accumulates the most points (goals & assists) across the regular season

Noel Derrick was a forward and prolific goal scorer for the Blackhawks and Victoria – 1st playing for the state in the champion Goodall Cup Team in 1951 – winning five in a row.  The Goodall wasn’t played for over the following 5 years, after which Noel played in the next two victories in ’61 & ’62, then four in a row from ’65 to ’68.

Noel also played in the 1960 Squaw Valley Olympics and was a member of 2nd Olympic qualification team in 1963–4. Captain of the 1966 Blackhawks Premier team, he wore number 6 throughout his prolific career.

Noel is a Life Member of IHA, 2000 and is honoured by IHV in that the “Noel Derrick Trophy” is awarded annually to the Most Valuable Player in the IHV Premier A League since 2008.


Best Defenceman  -  Perpetual Trophy provided by Charlie Grandy

Awarded to the defenceman who accumulates the most votes (3-2-1) during the regular season

Charlie Grandy was a long serving player, coach & administrator with the club & is also a Life Member of the Blackhawks, IHV & IHA.  Coming to the club in 1964 where he played for Blackhawks and Victoria in 1965-66.  Charlie terrorised the league as a tough, hard hitting defenseman wearing the feared number 4 jersey and played in the 1966 Blackhawks premiership. 

Returning to Australiain 1971 and played for the Blackhawks from 1972 to 1981.  Charlie captained the Blackhawks and Victoria on numerous occasions up to 1981.  He played on Goodall Cup winning teams in ’65, ’66, ’72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 78 and 79.  Charlie represented Australiain the 1963 Olympic Qualification Tournament and the 1974 and 1979 World Championships.   He captained Australiain 1974 and 1979 and in a 1977 Exhibition Series against West Germany.

Charlie coached the Senior A for several years including the 1984 Premiership.  He was also the Team Manager on 2002 and 2005 Premierships teams. 

A recipient of the Australian Sports Medal in 2000 for “AIHF life member and past AIHF vice-president and treasurer.” 

Charlie Is honoured by IHV with the Charles Grandy Championship Trophy” awarded annually to the IHV Junior Elite League Champions since 2008.


Rookie of the Year  -  Perpetual Trophy named after Stan Gray

Voted by the Coaches, the Best First Year player must be in their first season with the Blackhawks in the grade awarded (or placed less than 5 games prior) to be eligible to win.

Stan Gray was a long serving coach and administrator with the club, is a Life Member of the Blackhawks and the IHV.

Know for his hard line with young players, Stan was a bit like Scotty Bowman and never played the game but was a great Coach Manager and Administrator.

Stan was revered by all that knew him and he won the 1962 Goodall Cup as Coach and he was the Team Manager of the Australian Team at 1979 World Championships.


Most Improved  -  Perpetual trophy provided by the McDowell Family

This award is voted on by the coaches and presented to the player who over the season has demonstrated the work ethic and commitment required to succeed.

Andrew McDowell started his playing career with the Blackhawks in 1979, coming from the Ringwood Rangers organisation as a goalie, progressing through the juniors to be the A grade goalie in the 1984 Premier team where he wore the famous number 35 jersey. 

After a break and with his sons showing enough interest and joined the club as juniors.  Andrew put the skates on again and as well as the occasional turn between the pipes he played a little of “out” hockey with the summer league Chiefs and then in the first incarnation of the IHV Senior “C” league, playing in their premiership team in 2006.  Andrew became a team manger, committee man and eventually President of the club, through one of its most successful times.  He progressed to be the IHV President and has overseen many great initiatives.  Andrew was also team manager of the 2006 A grade premiership team. 

With Andrew, came his younger brother Simon, affectionately known as “Noid” who also played between the pipes but later decided to turn his hand to defence, playing through the senior grades and acquitting himself well in the A grade.  Long retired, Noid is putting the foil on again with the Chiefs in the summer league sporting his in-famous number 29.

With Andrew and Simon came two of the best hockey parents the club has seen in Neil and Marion.  Devoted to the Hawks, they did everything as junior parents.  Always seen at the rink supporting their boys, Neil was the team manager of the 1984 A grade premiership team and it was a very sad day for the club when he passed away in 2011. 



  John Purcell Trophy Noel Derrick Trophy Grandy Family Trophy McDowell Family Trophy Stan Gray
  MVP Highest Points Best Defenceman Most Improved Rookie of the Year
1986 Kevin Dolighan Kevin Dolighan Miles Read Richard Keyser ??
1987 Andrew Petrie Andrew Petrie Richard Keyzer Jamie Adams ??
1988 Glenn Grandy Glenn Grandy Jamie Adams Richard Szabo Ron Klajnblat
1989 Glenn Lynch Jason Monahan Ron Klajnblat Craig Luke Shane Hamilton
1990 Ron Klajnblat Andrew Petrie Richard Keyzer Tim Grandy Leigh Monahan
1991 Ron Klajnblat Glenn Grandy Ron Klajnblat Ron Klajnblat ??
1992 Ron Klajnblat & Glenn Grandy Glenn Grandy Ron Klajnblat ?? Paul Roker
1993 Ron Klajnblat Glenn Lynch Gary Croft & Jerry Veleba ?? Jerry Veleba
1994 Glenn Grandy Glenn Grandy Richard Keyzer ?? ??
1995 ???????   ?????????? ?? ??
1996 Brian Vellacott Brian Vellacott Leigh Monahan ?? ??
1997 Lee McLauchlan & Doug Stevenson Glenn Lynch Jamie Adams ?? Grant Geddes
1998 Glenn Grandy Doug Stevenson Gary Croft Darren Croft Jake Smallman
1999 Doug Stevenson Glenn Grandy Jodie Friend Darren Croft & Angus Campbell Mark Smith
2000 Glenn Grandy Derrick Puttick Jodie Friend Mark Smith Brok Eastwood
2001 Stuart Denman Darren Croft Glenn Grandy David Kucera Ondrej Veleba
2002 Stuart Denman Doug Stevenson Glenn Grandy Ben Dalton Tom Seymour
2003 Doug Stevenson Doug Stevenson Stuart Denman David Kucera Tom Powell
2004 Glenn Grandy Tom Powell Stuart Denman Erin Geraghty Jono Pol
2005 Glenn Grandy Glenn Grandy & Tom Powell Jono Pol Shane Hardy Travis Woods
2006 Lukas Koutsky Lukas Koutsky Jono Pol Dahlen Phillips Lukas Koutsky
2007 Tom Powell Tom Powell Jono Pol Chris Pippo Andrew Fitzgerald
2008 Travis Woods Travis Woods Dahlen Phillips Jack McCoy Brendan McDowell
2009 Jack McCoy Matt Burns Chris Pippo Not Awarded Not Awarded
2010 Dahlen Phillips Tom Powell Jim Han Jim Han Matt Skelt
2011 Dahlen Phillips Tom Powell Jono Pol Nick Trusewucz Daniel Innes
2012 Damian Holland Vadim Virjassov Jason Harvey Brok Eastwood Kurt Payne
2013 Tristan Woods Jack McCoy Jono Pol Paul Lazzarotto Alex Hall
2014 Jeremy Brown Paul Lazzarotto Travis Woods Niko French Elmeri Paltamaa