Log In to Interact.
       Lost Password?    Register


Like & Share:Premier "Reserve" Awards

Most Valuable Player  -  Perpetual Trophy provided by the Boileau Family

Awarded to the player who accumulates the most votes (3-2-1) during the regular season

Mike Boileau was a Flying French Canadian that played mostly in the A grade through the 70’s with the Hawks.  A high scoring forward that was always well liked and popular, Mike was affectionately known as “Frog” and his number 7 jersey often featured heavily on the score sheet.  Was also known for his “Bobby Clarke” hockey smile that was a signature of plenty of Canadian hockey players of the era. 

Mike represented Australiaat the 1974 World Championships.


Highest Point Scorer  -   Perpetual Trophy provided by Dave Cunningham

Awarded to the player who accumulates the most points (goals & assists) across the regular season

Dave Cunningham is a Life Member of the Blackhawks, the IHV and IHA.  Another high scoring forward of the era, Dave played in the first Blackhawks team of 1947 and graced the ice wearing number 5.  Also a very successful coach with the club, Dave helped in winning a number of Reserve Premierships.

Dave representedVictorianumerous times, winning the Goodall Cup in 1947, 52, 53, 54 and 55.  He was the Top Point Scorer of the 1960 Australian Olympic Ice Hockey Team scoring 6 points – 4G 2A – in 6 games. 

Dave is honoured by the IHV with the “Dave Cunningham Trophy” awarded annually to the Top Point Scorer in the IHV Premier A League since 2008.


Best Defenceman  -  Perpetual Trophy provided by Gary Croft

Awarded to the defenceman who accumulates the most votes (3-2-1) during the regular season

Gary Croft was along serving player, coach and committee member of the club from the early 70’s.  He is also a Life Member of the club.  Known for his high energy game and no nonsense approach,Gary patrolled the blue line in the famous number 5 through several tours of service, finishing in a winning premiership team that also featured his son Darren.

Affectionately known as "King Bonza",Gary coached the clubs A and B grade teams.

Gary also played in Goodall Cup winning teams forVictoriain 1973, 74, 75 and 76 and continued to represent Victoria up to 1996. Gary also represented Australiain 1974, 77 and 79.


Rookie of the Year  -  Perpetual Trophy provided by Wayne Dalton

Voted by the Coaches, the Best First Year player must be in their first season with the Blackhawks in the grade awarded (or placed less than 5 games prior) to be eligible to win.

Wayne Dalton was a late starter to hockey and began with the Blackhawks in the mid 70’s.  Wearing the number 21 jersey, he played mostly in the B Grade and developed later into a great leader of the club, captaining the A grade in the 2002 Premiership. 

Wayne also served the club as President and on the committee in a number of roles.


Most Improved  -  Perpetual Trophy provided by Peter South

This award is voted on by the coaches and presented to the player who over the season has demonstrated the work ethic and commitment required to succeed.

Peter South came to the club in the 70’s a fast skating forward  and developed into a fantastic and well liked character around the club.  With a number of nicknames, Peter played through to both A and B Grade starring in both while wearing the famed number 12 jersey. 

Peter coached at various levels of junior grades up to and including state levels.  Also serving as captain across the years, Peter always did what was best for the club, serving on the committee a number of times. 

Peter played in the 1984 A grade Premiership and is a Life Member of the club.


  Boileau Family Trophy Dave Cunningham Trophy Gary Croft Trophy Peter South Trophy Wayne Dalton Trophy
  MVP Highest Points Best Defenceman Most Improved Rookie of the Year
1986 Peter South Peter South Glen Dyer    
1987 Dean Cunningham Brad Cunningham Peter South   Richard Power
1988 Tony Dingle Tony Dingle Reg Hunt   Peter Lye
1989 Tony Dingle Glenn Lynch Richard Keyzer   Not Awarded
1990 Darin Bertles Tony Dingle & Tony Taylor Gary Croft   Greg Smith
1991 Darin Bertles Tony Taylor Darin Bertles   Simon McDowell
1992 Tyson Russell Kevin Madden Darin Bertles   Tyson Russell
1993 Darin Bertles Paul Roker Mark Tozer   Not Awarded
1994 Brad Cunningham ????????? Brad Cunningham   Not Awarded
1995 Tony Dingle Tony Dingle ???????????????    
1996 Jason Baglot Glenn Lynch Simon McDowell   Warren Ashby
1997 Jason Baglot Peter South Warren Ashby   Jody Friend
1998 Tony Dingle Tony Dingle Warren Ashby   Tim Rodrigo
1999 Brad Cunningham Tony Dingle Steve Riley   Steve Kiley
2000 Tony Dingle Tony Dingle Erin Geraghty   Ondrej Veleba
2001 Peter South Tim Rodrigo Jody Friend   Tom Seymour
2002 Tony Dingle Tim Rodrigo Jeremy Fitzpatrick   Not Awarded
2003 Ryan Jeary Ryan Jeary & Tim Rodrigo Richard Power   Paul Campbell
2004 Tim Rodrigo Nic Ferroni Emma Reid   Ashley Carver
2005 Adam Anderson Ryan Jeary Paul Swann   Stefan DeLoof
2006 Matthew Becker & Warren Ashby Tim Rodrigo Grainge Phillips   Christopher Pippo
2007 Tim Gamble Michael Woolley Matthew Skelt Michael Wooley Sebastien Payette
2008 Mark Cambareri Tim Rodrigo Tim Gamble Not awarded Not awarded
2009 Dave Beehler & Tristan Woods Dave Beehler Not Awarded Nick Trusewicz Kel Boers
2010 Nick Glass Nick Glass Matthew Skelt Lachlan Abrams Camm Simms
2011 Geoff Skelt Ryan Jeary Frederick Normand David Raudam Camm Simms
2012 Tristan Woods Ryan Jeary Chris Mulhallen Lachlan Abrams Jol Duffel
2013 Tristan Woods & Chris Mulhallen Chris Mulhallen Matthew Skelt Steve White Zac Madej-Carter
2014 Geoff Skelt Erwan Gutton Stephen White Tim Tettamanti Alex Wietrzyk